McMaster University

McMaster University

Faculty

Sessional Faculty Postdoctoral Adjunct/Associate Faculty Emeritus

 

Current Faculty

Dr. Bruce Newbold

Internal migration in Canada and the United States;
Immigration: settlement and adjustment;
Immigration and health;
Aging Issues; GIScience

Dr. K. Bruce Newbold,
Professor, Director,

Email:newbold@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Altaf Arain

Hydrometeorology;
Biometeorology;
Climatology;
Forest carbon and water cycles; Evapotranspiration
Global climate models;
Air pollution

Dr. Altaf Arain, Professor, Associate Director,
Director, McMaster Centre for Climate Change

Email: arainm@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Dareen Scott Active travel;
Activity-based approaches to travel analysis and modeling;
Built environment;
Geographic information systems for transportation (GIS-T);
Sustainable transportation; GIScience

Dr. Darren Scott,
Professor, Associate Director

Email: scottdm@mcmaster.ca

  [TOP]
Dr. Luc Bernier

Geomicrobiology;
Environmental geochemistry of redox sensitive elements;
Global biogeochemical cycles; Biological controls on climate change;
Virology

Dr. Luc Bernier,
Assistant Professor

Email: berniejm@mcmaster.ca

 

Dr.Janok Bhattacharya Sequence stratigraphy;
3D facies architecture of shallow marine;
Paralic, and fluvial depositional systems

Dr. Janok Bhattacharya, Professor,
Susan Cunningham Research Chair in Geology
Email: bhattaj@mcmaster.ca

 

[TOP]
Dr. Joe Boyce Environmental (near-surface) Geophysics;
Climate and paleoenvironmental reconstruction using magnetic proxys;
Environmental magnetism; Paleomagnetism

Dr. Joe Boyce,
Associate Professor

Email: boycej@mcmaster.ca

Dr.Sean Carey

Hydrology;
Biometeorology;
Cold Regions;
Reclamation;
Landscape Disturbance

Dr. Sean Carey,
Professor

Email:careysk@mcmaster.ca

[TOP]
Dr. Vera Chouinard

Geographies of gender;
Geographies of disability;
Disability in the Global South;
Experiences and representations of mental ill health;
The inclusion and exclusion of women in northern Canadian communities

Dr. Vera Chouinard,
Professor

Email: chouinar@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Paulin Coulibaly

Water Resource;,
Hydroclimatic Modelling and Forecasting;
Climate Variability;
Hydrology;
Hydrologic Data Assimilation

Dr. Paulin Coulibaly,
Professor, Jointly in School of Geography & Earth Sciences and Department of Civil Engineering

Email: couliba@mcmaster.ca

  [TOP]
Dr. Alan Dickin

Radiogenic Isotope Geology;
Crustal evolution in the Grenville Province of the Canadian Shield

Dr. Alan Dickin,
Professor

Email: dickin@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Carolyn Eyles Environmental geology;
Glaciomarine sedimentology;
Tectonic versus climatic controls on sedimentation in glaciated basins

Dr. Carolyn Eyles, Professor, P. Geo
Director, Integrated Sciences Program

Email: eylesc@mcmaster.ca

[TOP]
Dr. Richard Harris Housing;
Suburban development;
Urban social geography;
Urban historical geography;
Canadian and US cities in the twentieth century, British colonies, 1920-1960s

Dr. Richard Harris,
Professor

Email:harrisr@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Sang-Tae KimStable Isotope Geochemistry;
Marine and Aqueous Geochemistry;
Cosmochemistry;
Chemical Oceanography; Paleoclimatology;
Experimental Geochemistry; Biomineralization
 

Dr. Sang-Tae Kim,
Associate Professor

Email: sangtae@mcmaster.ca

  [TOP]
Dr. John Maclachlan Pedagogical study of advancing the use of technologies into classroom teaching and learning;
Spatial distribution of quaternary landforms and sediments of glacial origin in southern Ontario.

Dr. John Maclachlan, Assistant Professor
Arts & Science Program, McMaster University

Email:maclacjc@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Michael Mercier Philosophies of teaching;
Teaching and learning environments;
Changing social geographies of Canadian cities;
Pedagogical studies including the assessment of the effectiveness of teaching and learning methods.

Dr. Michael Mercier,
Assistant Professor

Email: mercieme@mcmaster.ca

[TOP]
Dr. Suzanne Mills

Equity and unions;
Gender;
Aboriginal identity and work in natural resource, industries, labour and the environment;
Construction Trades Unions

Dr. Suzanne Mills,
Associate Professor, Jointly in School of Geography & Earth Sciences and School of Labour Studies

Email:smills@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Maureen Padden Stable isotope geochemistry; Paleoceanography;
Paleoclimatology;
Sedimentary geology

Dr. Maureen Padden,
Associate Professor

Email:paddenm@mcmaster.ca

[TOP]
Dr. Antonio Páez

Spatial data analysis and statistics; Transportation modeling;
Travel behavior;
Health geography;
Geographic Information Systems; GIScience

Dr. Antonio Páez,
Professor

Email: paezha@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Eduard ReinhardtGeoarchaeology;
Marine Archaeology; Micropaleontology (foraminifera); Isotope Geochemistry; Paleoenvironmental Analysis; Catastrophic Event Stratigraphy; Quaternary Geology
 

Dr. Eduard Reinhardt,
Professor

Email:ereinhar@mcmaster.ca

  [TOP]
Dr. Greg SlaterStable isotope Geochemistry;
Environmental and Organic Geochemistry;
Geobiology;
Contaminant hydrogeology 
Biodegradation and Bioremediation; Astrobiology

 

Dr. Greg Slater,
Professor

Email:gslater@mcmaster.ca


Dr. James E. Smith

Water Flow and Contaminant Transport in the Subsurface;
Vadose Zone Hydrology;
Soil Physics;
Hydrogeology;
Multiphase Flow through Porous Media

Dr. James E. Smith,
Professor

Email: smithja@mcmaster.ca

[TOP]
Dr. James Michael Waddington Watershed ecohydrology;
Peatlands;
Drought;
Wildfire;
Groundwater;
Climate change;
Hydrology

Dr. James Michael Waddington,
Professor

Email: jmw@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Allison Williams Therapeutic landscapes;
Informal/family caregiving;
Home/community health care;
Palliative/end-of-life care;
Urban health/quality of life;
Health determinants;
Women’s health

Dr. Allison Williams, Professor,
CIHR Research Chair in Gender, Work and Health

Email: awill@mcmaster.ca

[TOP]
Dr. Robert D. Wilton

Geographies of disability;
Geographies of addiction and mental health;
Social geographies of exclusion

Dr. Robert D. Wilton,
Professor,

Email:wiltonr@mcmaster.ca

Niko Yiannakoulias

Medical geography;
Injury epidemiology;
Agent-based modelling;
Crime geomatics;
Cluster detection methods and theory; Child health; GIScience

Dr. Niko Yiannakoulias,
Associate Professor

Email:yiannan@mcmaster.ca

[TOP]
   

[Top]

Sessional Faculty

Dr. Sergei Basik

Dr. Dereck Amores
General Science Bldg. 305
Ext.
26334

Email:amorer1@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Sergei Basik Dr. Sergei Basik
General Science Bldg. 305
Ext.
26334

Email:basikse@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Allyson BradyDr. Allyson Brady
Postdoctoral/Research Fellow

 


Email: bradyal@mcmaster.ca

Patrick De Luca

Patrick De Luca,
Burke Science Bldg. Rm. 342B
Ext. 27786


Email:delucapf@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Chris HigginsDr. Chris Higgins
Postdoctoral/Research Fellow

 


Email:higgicd@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Kurt KornelsenDr. Kurt Kornelsen
Burke Science Building Rm. 327
Ext. 220438

Email: kornelkc@mcmaster.ca

Moataz MahmoudDr. Moataz Mohamed
Postdoctoral/Research Fellow,



Email:mmohame@mcmaster.ca

 
   

[Top]

Postdoctoral Fellows

Dr. Allyson Brady

Dr. Allyson Brady
Postdoctoral/Research Fellow

 


Email: bradyal@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Melissa GiesbrechtDr. Melissa Giesbrecht
Postdoctoral/Research Fellow

 


Email:mgiesbre@sfu.ca

Dr. Chris HigginsDr. Chris Higgins
Postdoctoral/Research Fellow

 


Email:higgicd@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Kim Huong HoangDr. Kim Huong Hoang,
Postdoctoral/Research Fellow



Email: hoangk1@mcmaster.ca

Moataz MahmoudDr. Moataz Mohamed
Postdoctoral/Research Fellow,



Email:mmohame@mcmaster.ca

Paul MooreDr. Paul Moore
Postdoctoral/Research Fellow

 


Email: moorepa6@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Hussein WaznehDr. Hussein Wazneh
Postdoctoral/Research Fellow

 


Email:waznehh@mcmaster.ca

 


 

 

   

[Top]

Adjunct/Associate Faculty

Faculty Email Current Institution
Dr. Gavin Andrews,
(Associate Member)
andrews@mcmaster. ca Department of Health, Aging, & Society,
McMaster university
Dr. Howard Barker,
(Adjunct Faculty)
Howard.Barker@ec.gc.ca

Environment Canada,
Cloud Physics and Severe Weather Research Section (ARMP)

Dr. Jing Chen,
(Adjunct Faculty)
chenj@geog.utoronto.ca Department of Geography & Program
in Planning
,
University of Toronto
Dr. Allan Crowe,
(Adjunct Faculty)
alan.crowe@ec.gc.ca National Water Research Institute
Dr. Ian Droppo,
(Adjunct Faculty)
ian.droppo@ec.gc.ca National Water Research Institute
Dr. Jim Dunn,
(Associate Member)
jim.dunn@mcmaster.ca Department of Health, Aging, & Society,
McMaster University
Dr. Susan J. Elliott,
(Adjuct Faculty)
elliotts@uwaterloo.ca Faculty of Applied Health Sciences,
University of Waterloo
Dr. Dustin Garrick
(Associate Member)
dgarrick@mcmaster.ca Engineering and Public Policy
Dr. Gail Krantzberg,
(Associate Member)
krantz@mcmaster.ca Great Lakes resilience, water governance, engineering/science and public policy
Dr. Tim Lotimer,
(Adjunct Member)
tim.lotimer@sympatico.ca Tim Lotimer & Associates
Dr. Hanna Maoh,
(Adjunct Faculty)
maohhf@uwindsor.ca Civil and Environmental Engineering,
University of Windsor
Stacey Mater, M.Sc.
(Adjunct Faculty)
smater@dillon.ca Dillon Consulting Limited
Dr. Dan McKenney
(Adjunct Faculty)
dan.mckennry@nrcan.gc.ca NRC
Dr. Nidhi Nagabhatla
(Adjunct Faculty)
Nidhi.Nagabhatla@unu.edu United Nations University INWEH
Dr. Matthias Peichl
(Adjunct Faculty)
matthias.peichl@slu.se Forest Ecology & Management/Swedish Univ
Dr. Michael Pisaric
(Adjunct Faculty)
mpisaric@brocku.ca Brock University
Dr. Saiedeh Razavi,
(Associate Member)
razavi@mcmaster.ca Civil Engineering,
McMaster University
Dr. Ulrich Riller,
(Adjunct Faculty)
ulrich.riller@uni-hamburg.de University of Hamburg
Dr. Dominique Rissolo,
( Adjunct Faculty)
dominique@waittinstitute.org Waitt Institute
Dr. Corine Schuster-Wallace, (Adjunct Faculty)  corinne.schusterwallace@gmail.com Water, Health, Wellbeing
Dr. Amanjot Singh,
(Adjuct Faculty)
asingh@creditvalleyca.ca Credit Valley Conservation Area
Dr. Spencer Snowling,
(Adjunct Faculty)
snowling@hydromantis-software.com Hydromantis Inc.
Dr. Matthias Sweet
(Adjunct Faculty)
sweet@mcmaster.ca Ryerson University
Dr. Martin Taylor,
(Adjunct Faculty)
smt@uvic.ca Department of Geography,
University of Victoria
Dr. Ross Upshur,
(Adjunct Faculty)
ross.upshur@utoronto.ca Department of Family and Community Medicine,
University of Toronto
Dr. Olive Wahoush
(Associate Member)
wahousho@mcmaster.ca Nursing, McMaster University
Dr. Lesley A. Warren,
(Adjunct Faculty)
warrenl@mcmaster.ca University of Toronto
Dr. Christopher Werner,
(Adjunct Faculty)
christopher.werner@shell.com Shell E & P Co.
Dr. John Weaver,
(Associate Member)
jweaver@mcmaster.ca Department of History,
McMaster University

Dr. Amin Yazdani
(Adjunct Assistant Professorr)

ayazdani@uwaterloo.ca

Department of Kinesiology,
University of Waterloo

 

[Top]

Professors Emeritus

Professor Emeritus Email
Dr. Brian Bunting btbunting@sympatico.ca
Dr. Andrew F. Burghardt burghard@cogeco.ca
Dr. Paul M. Clifford paul.clifford@sympatico,ca
Dr. James H. Crocket crocketj@mcmaster.ca
Dr. John Drake drake@mcmaster.ca
Dr. John Eyles eyles@mcmaster.ca
Dr. Derek C. Ford dford@mcmaster.ca
Dr. H. Douglas Grundy grundy@mcmaster.ca
Dr. Fred Hall flhall@ucalgary.ca
Dr. Leslie J. King kinglj@mcmaster.ca
Dr. James R. Kramer kramer@mcmaster.ca
Dr. Kao-Lee Liaw rliaw@mcmaster.ca
Dr. Robert McNutt mcnutt@mcmaster.ca
Dr. Gerard V. Middleton middleto@mcmaster.ca
Dr. Bill Morris morriswa@mcmaster.ca
Dr. Yorgos Papageorgiou yorgos@mcmaster.ca
Dr. Walter Peace, peacew@mcmaster.ca
Dr. Jack Rink rinkwj@mcmaster.ca
Dr. Michael J. Risk riskmj@mcmaster.ca
Dr. Wayne Rouse rouse@mcmaster.ca
Dr. Henry P. Schwarcz schwarcz@mcmaster.ca
Dr. Rodger G. Walker walkerrg@cadvision.com
Dr. Hok Woo woo@mcmaster.ca

 

[Top]

Last Updated: July 13th, 2016

 

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0